Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: L4 Catalog Previews.lrdata file

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    LR Version
    3.2

    L4 Catalog Previews.lrdata file

    I am new to L4 and started importing my photos and making sure that I have a back-up. But as I import and save I would like to delete some of the back-ups. Some of the back-up files have a sub-folder named: Lightroom 4 Catalog Previews.lrdata, but not all of the backups have this sub-folder. Can someone explain to me the importance of this folder and why other backups don't have it? I'm nervouse about deleting one of the folders that have this sub-folder.

    Thank you.
    Irene

  2. #2
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,207
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    LR Version
    4.2
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Irene,

    Before answering your question, one word about backups:
    Are you aware that the backups you perform when closing LR ONLY back up your Lightroom catalog, and not your original images? You need to back up your originals also using other backup procedures.

    Seeing a "Lightroom 4 Catalog Previews.lrdata" folder in a backup folder (the folders named "yyyy-mm-dd hhmm") means that you most probably have opened the contained backup catalog using LR (i.e. by double-clicking the "Lightroom 4 Catalog.lrcat" file in a backup folder). By opening a catalog, LR will create a previews folder for the images contained in the catalog, if it is not there already. Looks like this is what's happening here.

    You can safely delete those preview folders along with the backed up catalog, if you are sure you don't need the backup catalog anymore.

    I would advise you open your catalog settings dialog and check the catalog name and path in use before cleaning up, just to make sure you're not running LR out of one of those backup folder by accident:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_0004_20120410_235819.png 
Views:	58 
Size:	24.8 KB 
ID:	2095

    Beat
    Beat Gossweiler

    Canon 1Ds MkII | Canon 5D MkII | CANON EF 24-105mm F/4.0 L IS | CANON EF 100-400mm F/4.5-5.6L IS | CANON EF 100mm F/2.8 Makro
    HP Color Laserjet CP3505X

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    LR Version
    3.2
    Hi there,

    Yes, I am backing up my photos on a separate EHD.

    However, I think I have setup the catalog backup incorrectly.

    I have:

    Location: G:\L4CatalogBackup\2012-04-10 1942
    File Name: Lightroom 4 Catalog.lrcat

    Each of my backups folders are 2012-04-10 + hhmm

    I need some help in how to change the Location.

    Thank you.

    Irene

  4. #4
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,207
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    LR Version
    4.2
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Irene,

    You have not set up your backups incorrectly, but you're running LR from a backup catalog currently, which is not what you want.

    Can you please go into folder "C:\Users\[youruser]\Pictures\Lightroom" using explorer, and post a screen shot of the folder content?

    Also, are you completely satisfied of what images you see in LR when it's open? Not missing anything (besides the drive letter issue in the other thread)?

    Beat
    Beat Gossweiler

    Canon 1Ds MkII | Canon 5D MkII | CANON EF 24-105mm F/4.0 L IS | CANON EF 100-400mm F/4.5-5.6L IS | CANON EF 100mm F/2.8 Makro
    HP Color Laserjet CP3505X

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    LR Version
    3.2
    Beat,

    As far as I can tell everything else looks fine.

    Here is the screenshot of the my C:\........\Lightroom folders (don't know why it the upload is so small)
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lightroom.JPG 
Views:	10 
Size:	27.0 KB 
ID:	2096

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    LR Version
    3.2
    Just a quick thought. For Lightroom 4 I am using my Dell desktop with Windows7 64 bit. I only use my laptop Vista 32 bit for emails and browsing the web.

    Irene

  7. #7
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,207
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    LR Version
    4.2
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Can you please post a screen shot of the content of folder "C:\Users\[youruser]\Pictures\Lightroom" like this:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	capture_0006_20120411_014120.png 
Views:	54 
Size:	31.7 KB 
ID:	2097

    Btw, double clicking the uploaded screen shot before posting lets you size it bigger.

    Beat
    Beat Gossweiler

    Canon 1Ds MkII | Canon 5D MkII | CANON EF 24-105mm F/4.0 L IS | CANON EF 100-400mm F/4.5-5.6L IS | CANON EF 100mm F/2.8 Makro
    HP Color Laserjet CP3505X

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    LR Version
    3.2
    Beat,

    Thanks for your patience. I tried double clicking the screen shot and not much luck in making it bigger. Sorry

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lightroom-1.JPG 
Views:	15 
Size:	51.7 KB 
ID:	2098

  9. #9
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,207
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    LR Version
    4.2
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Quote Originally Posted by irenefrie View Post
    Beat,

    Thanks for your patience. I tried double clicking the screen shot and not much luck in making it bigger. Sorry
    Don't worry, I'm able to see it fine when clicking it.

    I would suggest you do the following:

    1) Using Explorer, open Folder "C:\Users\Irene Friedman\My Lightroom Photos\Lightroom":
    • rename the file "Lightroom 4 Catalog" to "Lightroom 4 old Catalog"
    • rename the folder "Lightroom 4 Catalog Previews.lrdata" to "Lightroom 4 old Catalog Previews.lrdata"


    2) Using Explorer, open Folder "G:\L4CatalogBackup\2012-04-10 1942":
    • Cut/Paste the file "Lightroom 4 Catalog" and the folder "Lightroom 4 Catalog Previews.lrdata" from "G:\L4CatalogBackup\2012-04-10 1942" to "C:\Users\Irene Friedman\My Lightroom Photos\Lightroom"


    3) Open the catalog "Lightroom 4 Catalog" in folder "C:\Users\Irene Friedman\My Lightroom Photos\Lightroom" by double clicking the catalog file

    4) Check the catalog settings dialog. It should now say:
    Location: C:\Users\Irene Friedman\My Lightroom Photos\Lightroom
    File Name: Lightroom 4 Catalog.lrcat

    5) In Lightroom Preferences (General Tab), make sure the catalog mentioned in 4) is indicated in "When starting up use this catalog:"

    6) When exiting LR, make sure "G:\L4CatalogBackup" is indicated as your backup folder


    Come back here if anything looks not as expected.

    Beat
    Beat Gossweiler

    Canon 1Ds MkII | Canon 5D MkII | CANON EF 24-105mm F/4.0 L IS | CANON EF 100-400mm F/4.5-5.6L IS | CANON EF 100mm F/2.8 Makro
    HP Color Laserjet CP3505X

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    LR Version
    3.2
    Wow! You are an expert. Thank you so much for your help. It is working great now. Thank you, thank you.

    Irene

  11. #11
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,840
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.7
    Camera
    Nikon D800E/D810
    File Format
    Raw
    Quote Originally Posted by irenefrie View Post
    Wow! You are an expert...
    That's why we keep him on retainer.

  12. #12
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Zurich, Switzerland
    Posts
    3,207
    Experience
    Advanced
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    LR Version
    4.2
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Quote Originally Posted by irenefrie View Post
    It is working great now.
    Glad to hear it worked out well, Irene :-)

    Now that you're all set (and make sure you see "C:\Users\Irene Friedman\My Lightroom Photos\Lightroom\Lightroom 4 Catalog.lrcat" in your catalog settings), you can go ahead and delete those backup folders (the folders named "yyyy-mm-dd hhmm") which you don't want anymore, regardless of whether they contain a *.lrdata subfolder or not.

    Also, when you're satisfied on how your current catalog looks, you can go ahead and delete the file "Lightroom 4 old Catalog" and the folder "Lightroom 4 old Catalog Previews.lrdata" in folder "C:\Users\Irene Friedman\My Lightroom Photos\Lightroom\".

    Then you're all set.

    Beat
    Beat Gossweiler

    Canon 1Ds MkII | Canon 5D MkII | CANON EF 24-105mm F/4.0 L IS | CANON EF 100-400mm F/4.5-5.6L IS | CANON EF 100mm F/2.8 Makro
    HP Color Laserjet CP3505X

  13. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    14
    Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows Vista 32-bit
    LR Version
    3.2
    Fantastic. I can't tell you how much I appreciate your expertise.

    Thank you.

    Irene

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •