Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Back up storage space?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Toms River NJ
    Posts
    147
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8Gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    Video Card
    ATI Radeon HD-5450
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Fujifilm XT1
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP

    Back up storage space?

    I just acquired a 40GB hard drive I plan to use as a back up. Do you think it will be to small? I shoot only for personal use.Please don't suggest I buy a larger one as I just dropped a bundle building a new computer and there is nothing left.
    Last edited by mrgooch; 26 Feb 2012 at 3:14 pm.

  2. #2
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Canon :)
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab
    That's a tiny drive. You can do the math, yourself. How many gigabytes of images do you have? How big is the catalogue file? You'll have to back up those two things, for sure.

    If you just got a new machine, did you build it with at least two drives? You don't have to have a drive have nothing but backups on it. As long as you have a copy of your catalogue on each of two drives and your images on each of them, you should be pretty safe.

    Hal

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    48
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Sony
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Epson
    Ya can get a 1 terrrabyte western digital portable hard drive for around 100 bucks on amazon. Thats what I use.

  4. #4
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,394
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon D800
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    My question would be as backup for what? it is likely that your new computer HD is 10-15 times as large that the 40 Gb HD and probably larger. I tend to look at Backups as a part of a system wide program for preserving critical data and this includes you LR catalog, presets preferences and master image files. In Windows that might mean almost everything inside your C:\users\{yourUserNameGoesHere}\ folder. For that reason, I would not recommend storing any critical data outside of this folder unless it is on a separate EHD. A good system wide backup scheme will utilize software to automatically backup data and incremental changes to individual files so that there is a redundancy. I would find a 40Gb HD probably inadequate for any system wide backup scheme. It might make a goo secondary HD for moving seldom accessed image data files off of the primary HD to free up space there for more recent data.

  5. #5
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,401
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16 GB
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.3
    Camera
    Nikon D700, Sony Nex 5N, iPhone, Olympus compact
    File Format
    Raw+Jpeg
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab
    Is it even possible to get a 40 GB drive these days?

  6. #6
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,394
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon D800
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Toms River NJ
    Posts
    147
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8Gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    Video Card
    ATI Radeon HD-5450
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Fujifilm XT1
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP
    I am talking about storing a second set of photos in case of a crash on my 500Gb primary drive. I do have an external USB 300Gb drive but don't like to have to remember to take it out,plug it in and backup.

  8. #8
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Canon :)
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab
    If you have space in your computer to mount the 40 GB drive, you could probably take the hard drive out of the external case and mount it inside your computer. Then you wouldn't have to go to all the effort of plugging it in when you want to run a backup.

    Hal

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Toms River NJ
    Posts
    147
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8Gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    Video Card
    ATI Radeon HD-5450
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Fujifilm XT1
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP
    Hal I think you have things confused.Take what hard drive out of it's case? The external drive I have is a USB drive.

  10. #10
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,540
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Nikon, Fuji, Olympus, Canon :)
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Offsite Photo Lab
    The 300 GB external you don't want to have to plug in. It's in a case, but generally they are just ATA hard drives like your primary hard drive.

    Hal

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Toms River NJ
    Posts
    147
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8Gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    Video Card
    ATI Radeon HD-5450
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Fujifilm XT1
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP
    I am speaking of a portable one.If there was a USB connector inside I would place it inside and use it.

  12. #12
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Bellaire, TX USA
    Posts
    7,394
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    AMD Radeon HD 6770M
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon D800
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    Quote Originally Posted by mrgooch View Post
    I am speaking of a portable one.If there was a USB connector inside I would place it inside and use it.
    USB External HDs are nothing more than an enclosure for a standard SATA HD with enough components to adapt a SATA connector to a USB connector. If you remove the case from the USB, you will see a standard 2.5" or 3.5" HD fitting inside the thin aluminum or plastic enclosure. All of my USB HDs were salvaged from old computers or old NAS Servers. You can buy a 2.5" enclosure for about $20 USD or a 3.5" enclosure for about $30USD. and put the HD of your choice inside. If you have a Desktop, it has additional slots for additional HDs. If you have a 300GB EHD, remove it from the case and install it into an empty bay in the Desktop. You may need to buy a SATA Cable or an adapter for the power supply.

    Backups work best when they run automatically on a schedule and you can forget about them.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Toms River NJ
    Posts
    147
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8Gb
    CPU Cores
    6
    Video Card
    ATI Radeon HD-5450
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Fujifilm XT1
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP
    Thank you for the information. It sounds like something I would like to do. Opening it up is no problem for me it's getting the cable connectors etc.

  14. #14
    New Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    1
    Experience
    Beginner
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 32-bit
    Memory
    8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    3.0
    I agree with the guys here. 40GB is really too small for a back-up especially when you'll be backing up some of your personal photos. I suggest a 500GB HD and it's really cheap to buy these days.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •