Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Multiuser Lightroom talk

  1. #1
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, Québec, CANADA
    Posts
    2,981
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw

    Multiuser Lightroom talk

    This thread is opened for discussion about the following Tips & Tricks thread:
    Multiuser Lightroom - How to (WinXP, multiple machines with catalog on server/workstation)

    Tell us here what are your experiences with it, your discoveries if any and so on...

    Hope you enjoyed,
    Denis Pagé

    Gravity won't let you down...

  2. #2

    Multiuser Lightroom talk

    Hey Denis,

    I still have to try this, but thanks in advance for the nice detailed tutorial !!

  3. #3
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1

    Multiuser Lightroom talk

    Would you please list what hardware you use for your SAN / NAS?

    thanks.

  4. #4
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, Québec, CANADA
    Posts
    2,981
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw

    Multiuser Lightroom talk

    Quote Originally Posted by steckler View Post
    Would you please list what hardware you use for your SAN / NAS?

    thanks.
    Dell PowerVault MD1'''
    WD4'''YR-RE2 drives.
    Also very important: UPS for everything! Even for Lightroom workstation.
    Denis Pagé

    Gravity won't let you down...

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1

    Multiuser Lightroom talk

    Like you said in the original thread, it's a bad idea.
    I tried that a very long time ago, as me and my wife wanted to be able to access the same DB from both our computers - as we could with adobe photoalbums

    Anyway, I ended up corrupting the catalog pretty much all the time, barely being able to repair it.

    Therefore, I took another approach; I do a file sync using a command line tool called unison.
    First step is to sync from the server to the local disk, then open the catalog, and when lightroom is closed (or crashed) do a sync the other way around, back to the server.
    The most expensive part is to sync all the preview files. There are (at most) one preview file for each picture in the catalog, leading to an ENORMOUS amount of files to scan. But it's still way faster to do than do a brute force copy back & forth, as it scans the timestamps instead of comparing the content of the files.

    On my computer, this adds up around 4' seconds of sync before opening the catalog and 4' seconds after closing - for a 1'''' pictures catalog. When things have changed it's of course a bit longer, but still reasonable.

    And the catalog is never corrupted, which is oh so much better

    here's my batch file:
    Code:
    "Unison-2.27.57 text.exe" -fastcheck true -auto -batch -times -root "c:\lightroom" -root "z:\LightRoom\digipics" -force "z:\LightRoom\digipics"
    c:\lightroom\digipics.lrcat
    "Unison-2.27.57 text.exe" -fastcheck true -auto -batch -times -root "c:\lightroom" -root "z:\LightRoom\digipics" -force "c:\lightroom"
    Z being a shared network drive.

    Hope this helps some people.

  6. #6
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, Québec, CANADA
    Posts
    2,981
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw

    Multiuser Lightroom talk

    Quote Originally Posted by Zeflash View Post
    here's my batch file:
    Hope this helps some people.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Denis Pagé

    Gravity won't let you down...

  7. #7
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1

    Lightroom Multiuser + Terminal Services

    Hi,

    I have been reading a little about SQLite, and I am wondering that using Terminal Services would work.

    When you use Terminal Services (in windows servers), all the processes (Lightroom's .exe) of the different users, are running in the same computer (the server). Locally.


    In this scenario SQLite should work correctly, since SQLite aparently does not have any problem with many local applications accessing the database at the same time.

    I'll give it a try, and post again.

  8. #8
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    St-Mathias-sur-Richelieu, Québec, CANADA
    Posts
    2,981
    Main OS
    Mac 10.9.x Mavericks
    Memory
    More than 8gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw

    Multiuser Lightroom talk

    Welcome to the forums moguera.
    You will be able to access it through a Terminal Server session but as a distant monitor can not be guessed by the server, you will do without color management! And obviously, backup before experimenting...
    Denis Pagé

    Gravity won't let you down...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •