Thread: Why does my Lightroom temporarily pixelate photos after every change?

Experience
    Beginner
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 32-bit
    LR Version

Why does my Lightroom temporarily pixelate photos after every change?

Hi there! I'm new to Lightroom and I started having an annoying problem a while ago. I tried the help of photo.stackexchange but they couldn't find a solution. Can you help me? For example images and the workarounds tried so far, please check the original post here.

I'm using Adobe Lightroom 3.0. I go to develop mode and everything is fine (the photo is sharp). After I do any change (saturation, fill light, sharpness... whatever) the photo automatically gets pixelated. In other words, the photo turns into what seems to be a thumbnail enlarged too much you know the look.

I found that when I zoom in, Lightroom displays "Loading..." and then the photo is once again sharp and in 1:1. I then zoom out, and the photo now displays correctly once again. But if I do any other change, the problem will be repeated.

What's wrong? Anyone have the same problem? I couldn't find a solution anywhere.

My system: Core 2 Duo @2.33GHz, 2GB ram, Geforce 8800GTS, 7200rpm hdd.

Catalog's Previews folder has 580MB and the catalog.lrcat itself has 24MB. It contains 2070 jpg photos.

Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    Video Card
    nVidia
    LR Version
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    None
    Hi DiAlex, welcome to the forum!

Ok, couple of questions for you...

1/ Update to 3.4.1, which is the latest free update, and see if that solves it.

2/ If that doesn't do the trick, are you seeing this in the Library module or Develop module? That'll give us a clue as to what's happening. I have a few ideas already, but I don't want to send you down a wild goose chase!!!
    Victoria