Thread: How can I put a filename onto a photo?

Experience
    Beginner
    Main OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    LR Version

How can I put a filename onto a photo?

Hi everyone, I'm a total newbie to the Forum so I apologise if this has been asked before - I did a search which came up blank so I'm risking your scorn and asking anyway!

I'm trying to figure out a way of getting the filename onto my photos. I've been using a program called Qimage to embed the filename onto the photo but it's causing the jpeg files to corrupt somehow and CS5 isn't reading them. It basically prints the filename onto the image in a font, position and size that you specify so the text becomes part of the picture. (I know putting the filename onto the photo will cover up a part of the image but I'm fine with that and I've been doing it for years as it's a great way of clarifying the image filename for each of the thousands of proof images I shoot every year. My clients find it easier to place orders and it totally eliminated the confusion over filenames I use to get before I went to digital photography!)

Anyway, I've found out how to create contact sheets in Lightroom (I've been doing mine in CS5 so may or may not continue to do that) and it gives me a way of printing the filename under the image thumbnail but I really want to embed it onto the image if possible. I've searched and investigated all the help topics, export options and menu options I can and have looked for plug-ins too. I've tried Mogrify and PrintEXIF but they don't do what I want so I'm now at a loss so I'm asking you experts out there for any help you can give to help me do this.

Many thanks in anticipation!

Lightroom Queen / Owner
    Experience
    Power User
    Main OS
    Mac 10.10.x Yosemite
    Other OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    16gb
    CPU Cores
    LR Version
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Hi keener, welcome to the forum! Don't worry, no scorn here!