Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Images are Very Slow to Load

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Edgartown, Massachusetts
    Posts
    118
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8GB
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    4.0
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon

    Images are Very Slow to Load

    Hi - I've got a problem with slow-loading images.

    Each image takes a good 5+ seconds to load, and I will never last at this rate, especially with the 300+images I need to review in the next couple of days. And godforbid I should still have this problem as I get into wedding season with 1,000+ images to review at a sitting.

    I'm in my summer location, an alternate computer - my winter machine runs fine.

    Don't know if it's an issue Vista (winter computer runs Win7), or if my system needs maintenance.

    Except for the operating systems, my two computers are identical.

    Any advice is most welcome and thanks in advance.
    Sara
    LR 4 | CS5 | G12 | Couple of 5DMKIIs | 24-70/2.8 L | 50/1.4 (now 2nd favorite) | 100/2.0 | 200/2.8 L | 20/2.8 | 70-200/2.8 MkII IS (new favorite)
    www.sarapiazza.com[URL]

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,475
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    12gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP
    Sara, are you talking about image loading time in Develop or Library? How are you timing it, presumably from the duration of the 'Loading' indicator? When in Develop, how long before the various sliders are released? I assume you know that as soon as they are released you can start working on the picture, and you can also turn off the 'Loading' indicator. On my PC whenever I move to a new picture my sliders are usually released in under a second and I keep the Loading indicator turned off....if I have it on it might take up to 3 seconds to clear (on the 5DMkII files, 40D files would of course be quicker), so having it turned off gives the impression of a much faster workflow.
    Jim

    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Edgartown, Massachusetts
    Posts
    118
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8GB
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    4.0
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    Hi, Jim. I'm in Library, selecting picks. Ordinarily, at least on my other computer, this is a straight-forward and fairly fast process of right arrow/P. On this machine it's as slow as molasses flowing uphill in January.

    Load time varies. I click the forward arrow, the new image is pixelated and loading for anywhere between 3 - 8 seconds, sometimes longer (from the time the new image appears). I noticed that when I take a break and return, the first 10 images load immediately, then it bogs down again.
    Sara
    LR 4 | CS5 | G12 | Couple of 5DMKIIs | 24-70/2.8 L | 50/1.4 (now 2nd favorite) | 100/2.0 | 200/2.8 L | 20/2.8 | 70-200/2.8 MkII IS (new favorite)
    www.sarapiazza.com[URL]

  4. #4
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,475
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    12gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP
    OK, what preview rendering do you do on import? And what preview settings do you have set in your Catalog Settings?

    What you describe sounds like you don't have standard or 1:1 previews created on import, so they have to be built on the fly (which could explain why things are a little faster for a few images when you take a break).
    Jim

    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Edgartown, Massachusetts
    Posts
    118
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8GB
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    4.0
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    Thanks, Jim. My Standard Preview Size is set to 1440 pixels. Preview Quality: Medium. Automatically Discard 1:1 Previews: After 30 Days. That's all I know. These are not settings that I have ever touched, to the best of my knowledge.
    Sara
    LR 4 | CS5 | G12 | Couple of 5DMKIIs | 24-70/2.8 L | 50/1.4 (now 2nd favorite) | 100/2.0 | 200/2.8 L | 20/2.8 | 70-200/2.8 MkII IS (new favorite)
    www.sarapiazza.com[URL]

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,475
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    12gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP
    What about the other part of the question, i.e. what type of previews are you rendering on Import?
    Jim

    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D

  7. #7
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    4,055
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    And how large is your monitor? If your Loupe window is wider than 1440 pixels, then LR will have to render a larger preview.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Edgartown, Massachusetts
    Posts
    118
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8GB
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    4.0
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    Where do I find that info?
    Sara
    LR 4 | CS5 | G12 | Couple of 5DMKIIs | 24-70/2.8 L | 50/1.4 (now 2nd favorite) | 100/2.0 | 200/2.8 L | 20/2.8 | 70-200/2.8 MkII IS (new favorite)
    www.sarapiazza.com[URL]

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Edgartown, Massachusetts
    Posts
    118
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8GB
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    4.0
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    My monitor is 22" I think. Same as it is in my other location and I don't have as much of a loading issue there.
    Sara
    LR 4 | CS5 | G12 | Couple of 5DMKIIs | 24-70/2.8 L | 50/1.4 (now 2nd favorite) | 100/2.0 | 200/2.8 L | 20/2.8 | 70-200/2.8 MkII IS (new favorite)
    www.sarapiazza.com[URL]

  10. #10
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    West Sussex, UK
    Posts
    6,475
    Experience
    Advanced
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    12gb
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    5.6
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    HP
    If you're running Vista, then right-click on a blank area of the desktop background and choose Personalize, then Display Settings. An information box will appear, let us know what the Display Resolution is (it will be listed in pixels).

    Any information regarding the Import preview setting? When you import, the preview setting option is at the top of the File Handling section at the top of the right-hand panel on the Import Screen, like so:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capturez.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	20.7 KB 
ID:	588

    We just need to know what yours is set to.
    Jim

    Desktop: i7-930, 12gb RAM, 2 x SDD, 3 x Internal HDD, Win7 Pro 64bit
    Cameras: 5D MkIII, 7D

  11. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Edgartown, Massachusetts
    Posts
    118
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8GB
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    4.0
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    1680X1050 res

    Import is set to minimal.
    Sara
    LR 4 | CS5 | G12 | Couple of 5DMKIIs | 24-70/2.8 L | 50/1.4 (now 2nd favorite) | 100/2.0 | 200/2.8 L | 20/2.8 | 70-200/2.8 MkII IS (new favorite)
    www.sarapiazza.com[URL]

  12. #12
    Lightroom Guru
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Philadelphia, PA, USA
    Posts
    4,055
    Experience
    Power User
    Primary OS
    Mac 10.8.x Mountain Lion
    LR Version
    5.5
    Camera
    Nikon
    File Format
    Raw
    For starters, change your standard preview size to 1680 pixels. Then select all (or at least select the set you're currently working with) and Render Standard Previews (in the Library/Previews menu).

    That should speed up the process of switching to the next image in Library/Loupe view. For future imports, be sure you render Standard previews on Import too.

    This might or might not completely explain your problem. Let us know how that works out, and if there's still more to be done will investigate other possibilities too.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Edgartown, Massachusetts
    Posts
    118
    Experience
    Intermediate
    Primary OS
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Memory
    8GB
    CPU Cores
    4
    Video Card
    ATI
    LR Version
    4.0
    Camera
    Canon
    File Format
    Raw
    Printer
    Canon
    Thanks, I think that helped. I also think this machine, for whatever reasons, is a bit sluggish. I bought it just shy of the release of Win7, with the intention of upgrading eventually. A few other issues have nudged me closer to doing this. After spending the better part of the past nine months working with Win7, I'm more aware of little things that aren't going right. Dunno....

    Thank you.
    Sara
    LR 4 | CS5 | G12 | Couple of 5DMKIIs | 24-70/2.8 L | 50/1.4 (now 2nd favorite) | 100/2.0 | 200/2.8 L | 20/2.8 | 70-200/2.8 MkII IS (new favorite)
    www.sarapiazza.com[URL]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •