PDA

View Full Version : Applying a sequence of Develop Presets

JBtheLD
13 Feb 2008, 4:12 am
Working as a Professional Lighting Designer I take a huge number of theatrical photos of shows that I have created the lighting for, about 1''' per show. I have found over the last few months that I process & edit them in a very similar way each time and would like to automate this as much as possible by combining a sequence of Lightroom Develop Presets into a single new User Preset. The shots are taken on a Canon 5d with a 7'-2'' f2.8L IS lens at ISO 8'' and usually at f2.8. Here's what I do:

On import I only apply a metadata preset that adds my copyright info, some details about the show, and a few keywords. Fine.
Apply General - Auto Tone Develop Preset
Reset Exposure (Auto Tone increases the Exposure way too much).
Usually Blacks have been Autoset to ', I set this back to 3 or 4 or 5.
Apply General - Punch Develop Preset
Increase Exposure to suit photo, by eye
Adjust Recovery to rescue any blown Highlights
Increase Saturation to +1'
Sync to other similar photos
Crop as required
Repeat for other sets of similar photos
Select for printing, slideshow, web etc.
Job doneI like that applying Auto Tone seems to analyse the histogram of the photo, but hate that the Exposure is usually set way too high.
How can I combine the analysing of the Auto Tone Preset with the General - Punch Preset alongwith an auto Recovery adjustment into a single User Preset, so that I can apply this new User Preset to all my show photos upon import?

Thanks.

Richard Earney
13 Feb 2008, 5:10 am
You can save presets that just affect a small selection of the properties. So just an AutoTone, or just Clarity.

There is no method for performing Macros as yet

Richard Earney
--
http://inside-lightroom.com

JBtheLD
13 Feb 2008, 12:18 pm
Thank you Richard for your reply.