PDA

View Full Version : Yuk! Everything looks grainy!

katsntx
3 Apr 2012, 3:47 pm
I'm brand new to LR and to shooting RAW. When I output my files to jpg they look terribly grainy. This is what I did:

Upload RAW images from Memory Card to customer file on computer
Import RAW files to LR
Edit color, crop, send a few to Photoshop for tweaking. When file is done in Photoshop I just hit SAVE and then continued in LR
After all editing was done, I exported files to jpg's back to my customer folder on computer.
I posted a few on facebook and they look very grainy. Then I printed an image on a CD cover and that looked grainy too.

They look terrible. I'm confused by all the export options. Do I need to save multiple versions of these files for different uses? I am burning a CD for my client and I don't know exactly how they will use the images. I'm sure she will want to print some and then use some online for facebook etc.

Do most of you shoot RAW or Large JPG. I only started shooting RAW since getting LR. I thought this would make great quality images but so far... not so good. :o(

Thanks for any insight you might have!
Kat

b_gossweiler
3 Apr 2012, 5:12 pm
Welcome to the forums, Kat :)

Re: Raw vs. JPEG
Without knowing the number, I would think that most of the regulars here shoot Raw (or DNG, which comes down to the same). In general, you should be able to achieve at least the same (usually better) quality by processing a Raw in LR than when shooting JPEG, and you are able to recover a lot more critical shots in postprocessing when shooting Raw. One common reason for shooting JPEG (possible along with Raw) is critical timelines, where photographers need to supply the result of their work within minutes after shooting.

Re: Export size/quality for clients